Shalya-Tantra Department

Department of Shalya-Tantra is one of the most enthusiastic and academically enriched Clinical Department of Rishikul Ayurvedic College, Haridwar which was upgraded to Post-graduate department in the year 2005. Total numbers of permissible Post-graduate seats are Seven scholars per year through “All India PG Entrance examination. Faculty members of department are as follows –

S.noName of FacultyDesignation
1 Dr. Ajay Kumar Gupta Professor(N) and HOD
2 Dr. Vishal Verma Professor
3 Dr. Vimal Kumar Assistant. Professor – Anaesthetist
4 Dr. Savita Sonkar Assistant. Professor

Total 17 PG Scholars are under training and research in the Department.

All faculty members are precisely dedicated in teaching of under – graduate students and Post – graduate students, both theoretical as well as clinical. Daily routine OPD’s are run on all working days along with due care of male IPD and female IPD, and has highest number of patients consistently among all departments.


1Major Operation Theatre
2Minor Operation Theatre
3Centre of Excellence in Kshara– Karma
4Centre of Excellence in Marma–Chikitsa
5Kshara – Sutra Lab
6Kshara – Sutra Ligation / Changing O.T.
7Research & Development Centre for Therapeutic Leeches (JalaukaGriha)
8Rakta–mokshana Unit
9Agnikarma Unit
10Uroflowmetry Unit
11Plaster Room
12Dressing Room
13Chambers for Faculty members
14Departmental Library
15Departmental Museum
16Departmental Seminar Room


1Daily UG and PG Lectures (Online / Offline)
2Daily OPD on all working days*
3Major and Minor Surgical Procedures
4Kshara–Karma =Kshara–Sutra ligation, Kshara–lepa application.
6Raktamokshana procedure
7Agni karma procedure
8Management of Fractures
9Classical Wound management
10Uroflowmetric evaluation
11Basti –Chikitsa
12Management of bone & joint disorders
13Preparation of different types of Kshara, Kshara–Sutra, Kshar–lepa, &Kshar–Varti
14Preparation of various classical wound healing drugs
15PG Research on various surgical disorders
16Departmental Seminars
17Sushruta Samhita Vaachan
18Journal Club
19Shloka Antakshari
20Free Medical Camps


DayDoctor’s Name
MondayDr. Ajay Kumar Gupta
TuesdayDr. Vishal Verma
ThursdayDr. Ajay Kumar Gupta
FridayDr. Vishal Verma
SaturdayDr. Savita Sonkar